Re: robot goes backward instead of forward?
It's fun answering questions, we're starting to pine-away for the next season already!
I hope I'm not asking tooooo much :P
Yes. The groceries only count for points if you put them and their container on the table, so if part is lying on the mat, you aren't scoring points for that unit. You get two points for each complete grocery unit on the table. There are two units of groceries in the yellow truck; the "carrots and tomatoes" are one unit, and the "bananas" are the other. Also see Robot Game Update #7.
1.Do we lose any points if one tomato or one carrot falls down on the mat on the way going back to the dining table?
At the end of the run, count up the number of empty dispensers, and look for any bacteria left on the mat outside of base. If there are any bacteria on the mat, each empty dispenser scores 7 points. If there are no bacteria on the mat, each empty dispenser scores 12 points. So, you'll get 7, 14, 21, or 28 points if there are any bacteria on the mat. You'll get 12, 24, 36, or 48 points if there are no bacteria on the mat.
2. If you emptied one of the dispensers and you took all bacteria and viruses to the base, but you did not empty the rest of the dispensers (the 3 others - you just left them), then do you get 7 points? Do you get 12 points?
Note also that it's only the bacteria that have to be off the mat (not the virus).
See Rule #19, it covers a lot of this.
3. What if one or a few of the bacterias have fallen down on the mat, would the referee remove them? Because they might block the way when the robot is moving for another mission. What if the yellow truck or the harvester moved from the correct position unintentionally, are we allowed to return it back to the correct position? Does the referee return it back? Do we lose a touch penality object if we do so?
The referee will not remove any fallen germs from the mat.
You cannot touch any objects outside of base other than your robot or its cargo.
Touching either (your robot or its cargo) costs one touch penalty.
There are only a couple of cases where the referee will handle game objects. This gets a little tricky:
- The referee may remove the pollution balls from the table after you've knocked them off their rings. This is because they can roll around the mat and potentially jam or trigger other mission models, or block your robot's movements. See Robot Game Update #26.
- If you rescue your robot when it is outside of base, the referee will remove from the table any mission models that the robot is transporting as cargo (unless the cargo was with the robot when it left base).
- If your robot is returning to base with a mission model, and you touch the robot before the model is inside the base, that model will be removed from the table. You do not score any points for it. Make sure the robot and its cargo are in base before you touch either of them.
For example, if your robot is bringing the truck back to base, but you touch your robot before the truck crosses the base boundary, the referee will remove the truck.
See Rules 11 and 18, and Robot Game Update #30.
Also, Rule 21 defines when objects are considered "in base".
It's OK to put them wherever they accomplish what you desire. There are advantages and disadvantages. The farther the light sensors are from the drive axis of the robot, the more they will swerve side-to-side when the robot turns. If they're in "front" of the drive axis, they will swing in the same direction as the turn. If you put them "behind" the drive axis, they're swing the opposite direction of the turn. You can also vary how close together they are. Close-spacing is good for tracking both sides of a black line, for example. Widely separated sensors are good for getting the robot perpendicular to a line. It all depends on how you want to use them.
4. The other thing is regarding the position of the light sensors, are they best connected to the robot in the front? Is it okay if we place them in the middle of the robot or in the back of the robot?
FTC Judge: 2010
FLL Mentor, Instructor, and/or Referee since 2011
FRC judge (Chairman's Award): 2014
Dean says I'm an "Oompa Loompa of Science"