Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: 2017 Radio Configuration Utility with DAP-1522

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    5

    Default 2017 Radio Configuration Utility with DAP-1522

    We want to use a DLINK DAP-1522 rev B1 radio from past years, for testing and experimentation.

    However, using the 2017 FRC Radio Configuration utility and selecting the DLink radio type, the utility will not find the radio. (We have tried hard reset of the radios, and different computers.)

    By watching the Windows wireless adapter status dialog, it appears that the Radio Configuration utility is temporarily setting the computer address to 192.168.1.x (subnet '1'). But I know the radio's admin address is 192.168.0.1 (subnet '0').

    When I bring up the radio's webpage (192.168.0.1), I see the LAN address 10.TE.AM, but I don't see a place to change the 192.168.x.x address from subnet '0' to '1' so that the FRC Utility can communicate with the radio.

    Please advise.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    550

    Default Re: 2017 Radio Configuration Utility with DAP-1522

    Quote Originally Posted by hoffmand View Post
    By watching the Windows wireless adapter status dialog, it appears that the Radio Configuration utility is temporarily setting the computer address to 192.168.1.x (subnet '1'). But I know the radio's admin address is 192.168.0.1 (subnet '0').
    The radio configuration utility will not work over wireless. If you are having trouble with the radio utility, you should try disabling all adapters other than the one being used for radio configuration.

    I have not yet gone back to test with a DAP-1522 today but I did just review the code and am fairly certain that the utility will set the chosen adapter to 192.168.0.51 and 10.0.0.51 (dual homed) if either DAP1522 radio type is selected in the drop-down. For a DAP1522 RevB the address it is attempting to access is 192.168.0.50 as that should be the address of the admin interface. If your radio is not accessible at that address can you let me know what firmware revision is running on it?
    FIRST
    FRC Robotics Engineer

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: 2017 Radio Configuration Utility with DAP-1522

    My original 8:29 post should have said, "...the Windows wired adapter..." (I am not trying to configure over wireless, wireless adapter is off/disabled.)

    The DLink DAP-1522: h/w B1, f/w 2.02, no password
    (I can access the admin page through both 192.168.0.50, and 10.37.77.2)

    I just finished on another computer: uninstalling and re-installing all the NI software, including the FRC Update Suite, and the Radio Configuration Utility (v17.3).

    After I start the RC Utility (radio=DAP1522revB, Access Point, RobotName=C5), click "Configure", and think it has set the computer's IP, then I run "ipconfig" in a Windows command window. It shows the following:
    Link-local IPv6 Address: fe80:...
    IPv4 Address: 10.0.0.51
    Subnet Mask: 255.0.0.0
    IPv4 Address: 192.168.1.51 (I'm not sure where this subnet '1' is coming from, because the DAP1522 is at '0'.)
    Subnet Mask: 255.0.0.0 (Concern? For Dlink products I've used over many years, they typically default to a mask of 255.255.255.0
    Default Gateway: (blank)

    After a few seconds, I run "ipconfig" again, and it changes to:
    Link-local IPv6 Address: fe80:...
    IPv4 Address: 10.37.77.2
    Subnet Mask: 255.0.0.0
    Default Gateway: 10.37.77.1

    The RC Utility dialog:
    "Configuring computer IP address"
    "Checking for bridge at expected IP addresses"
    "Could not locate bridge"

    Then an Error box:
    "Bridge configuration failed: Could not locate Bridge... try power cycling or manually resetting the bridge"
    Last edited by hoffmand; 02-20-2017 at 10:41 PM.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Posts
    550

    Default Re: 2017 Radio Configuration Utility with DAP-1522

    It looks like a bug in the utility cause both D-Link options to still attempt to program an OpenMesh radio. Please try this installer and see if it resolves your issue: https://usfirst.box.com/s/g1iy1mw7um...rt1ay6ux977z0v
    FIRST
    FRC Robotics Engineer

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    5

    Default Re: 2017 Radio Configuration Utility with DAP-1522

    Yeh!
    "Bridge found at default IP address" ... "Bridge for Team 3777 bridge programmed successfully"

    (We'll try this old DLINK radio tomorrow with the robot; I'll update the post here, with the results.)

    Thank you very much for your attention and quick response!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Posts
    1

    Default Re: 2017 Radio Configuration Utility with DAP-1522

    This updated version worked for me as well. Thanks,
    STarr - 1425 Mentor and CSA

Thread Information

Users Browsing this Thread

There are currently 1 users browsing this thread. (0 members and 1 guests)

Similar Threads

  1. FRC radio config utility
    By timpaulson in forum Electrical
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-10-2016, 07:57 AM
  2. Configuring the DAP-1522 Radio
    By Laura Rhodes in forum Electrical
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 09:25 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •