Originally Posted by The Reaver
Is our team allowed to use an electromagnetic clutch or brake?
We read <R53> in 8.3.7 and it doesn't seem to specify anything about electromagnetic clutches/brakes. We believe that these are quite different from the solenoids referred to in R53.
If you want an "official" answer you have to post to the Q&A forum.
If the device you are considering uses an electromagnet to physically actuate (move) something inside the device, then the answer is probably "NO" under Rule <R53>: Part A if the motion is rotary, and Part B if the motion is linear.