Roles Question

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Roles Question

Hi, on our team we do not really have roles. We believe that all the children should have the opportunity to participate in all aspects of the program. So, they all build, they all program, they all work on the project, and, of course, Core Values. For the robot game, they have micro-teams of two to three which focus programming and building attachments for a particular mission. All of the children are on one of these teams. During the project and Core Values, there are times when one set is working on gluing items to the board, and others are working on building a prototype. But, when they are asked in competition, "What is your role and what is the role of the teammate standing next to you?" they really don't have a good answer. They can answer what they are good at or what they have done, but cannot say, "I am a programmer and she is in charge of the project board". How do your teams handle this? Do we have to label them something for them to score well? Or can they say that they all take part in all of the activities of the team?

Thank you!

Re: Roles Question

The short answer is that how your team is organized is just fine. I think how your team is functioning works well for many groups.
    How to sell that approach to the judges probably merits a longer answer.
    There was a thread recently that discussed this issue. I'll try to find it and post a link here.

Comment

Here's the thread on "Role definition" from a few months ago.

Comment

The thread Tim linked to has some good thoughts.