Building Mission Elements

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Building Mission Elements

I have been coaching FLL for two years and I have a very small FLL team, usually about 4 team members. While I definitely want to grow the team, one issue that we are running into right now is just how long it takes to build all of the mission elements with only a few team members. It feels like having the kids spend so much time building the elements isn't a good use of their time but it also doesn't feel great to have adults doing the building. How would you all handle this? Is it appropriate for adults to help with the building so that the students can get to designing and building their robot and working on their project (which is where I feel like the real learning happens!) faster?

When I coached, we had a special pre-season team meeting where we built the mission models. I think it was a fun team-building exercise, and I think the kids enjoyed it. As a coach, I don't recall getting to build much more than a couple mini-figs. This was back in the old days when the mission models often shipped in advance of the challenge release.

I've known teams that had a late start to their season and adults built the models to speed things up. It certainly is not against the rules, but I would avoid it if possible. Let the kids have their fun.

Comment