Core Values Clarification

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Core Values Clarification

Hi all! I am a rookie coach with a rookie FLL team. We were wondering what the Core Values portion of the tournament looks like. We've been told that in the judging room they work on an activity that lets the judges see their teamwork. The team also has a Core Values poster that they've been making. Anything else they need to do? A formal rehearsed presentation? Anything else they should know before going before the judges? Thanks!
    Last edited by Mmetzbower; 10-08-2018, 02:20 PM.

I think it can vary a bit by region, but in Wisconsin the judges will present the team with a challenge that takes a few minutes. After that they will talk to the team and ask questions about their season so that they can score them on the rubric. The Core Values poster can be a handy reference for the team. To prepare, you can practice some challenges (check out flltutorials.com) and practice answers for each section of the rubric.

Comment

In addition to the answer above, our team makes sure they have a basic understanding of each of the core values. This is more that memorizing them, they need to be able to explain each one.
      Then, they find 2 - 3 examples of each core value both inside FLL and outside FLL that they can relate to the judges.
      The judges are watching the activity/challenge to see if they act like a team, demonstrate Core Values and interact with respect. Then, during the questioning, they explore each individual's understanding of the Core Values.
      In my opinion, this area of the competition is the best area to get more points. Many teams are not fully prepared in this area and, as a result, a well prepared team can really stand out from other teams. You need to be in the top 75% of Robot Game to advance from the regional qualifier but, the top 75% of Core Values may not get you to the next level.