Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does anybody have any problem with EV3 center button?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Does anybody have any problem with EV3 center button?

Hello,

The center button of the brick gets stuck, and we cannot power it on - this happened to us twice now. Specifically, on newly ordered Lego kits.

Lego Education has been helpful enough and they sent us replacement. However, just want to understand if this is unique to our team :-( .
    As a coach, I am wondering whether these brick buttons are so delicate, or is it a usage issue?

Thanks!

Re: Does anybody have any problem with EV3 center button?

We have three EV3 bricks and this has never happened that I know of.

Comment

I've never seen this happen. Maybe a Lego problem. Also, while snacks are great to help kids think sometimes, snacks and robots definitely don't mix.

Comment

Originally posted by tjhawkey View Post
        Also, while snacks are great to help kids think sometimes, snacks and robots definitely don't mix.
        +1

And keep snacks away from the field as well.

Comment

We have one where the power off button doesnt bounce back up. Fortunately it still works. We havent tried exchanging it, as it is a few years old.

Comment

Twice out of how many?

How is the button stuck? Is it stuck in the depressed position or is it hard to press?

Damien Kee had a problem with the reset button stuck down. He made a video showing how to fix the problem. No major surgery is required. Even if you don't want to crack open the case it is worth taking a look to understand why the buttons may not be working. To me it looks like rough handling, particularly side impacts, could easily dislodge the little metal springs behind the buttons.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NNoutMLxmJ0

Comment