Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Newbie: I am purchasing an EV3. Should I buy new or used

Hi,
    I am new to FLL and am purchasing an EV3 for my son who is on a team. The team has an EV3 kit but I would like my son to get some experience at home so I would like to purchase him a kit.
    I am having trouble understanding if there are differences between the EV3's depending on how old they are?
    Is the brick the same 6 years ago as it is today?
    Are the sensors the same 6 years ago as they are today?
    I would like to purchase used to save money but not at the expense of having issues.
    Thanks.

These are great questions to ask before spending a lot of money.
    One additional thing to consider is how much time your student will be involved in FLL. Are they an 8th grader that may be done in a year or younger and may be in the program for a few years.
    Lego is releasing a new system with the Lego Spike Prime. The EV3 brain, motors, electronics, cables and sensors will not work with the new system.
    https://education.lego.com/en-us/sho...prime-products

Is the team going to continue with the EV3 or switch to the Spike Prime?

The EV3 will still be sold and can be used in FLL but, it may soon be an end of life product as Lego tries to move people to the Spike Prime.
    As far as your questions, the EV3 is the same now as in the past and the motors and sensors all work together. It is an EV3 system and all the parts designed for the system work with all EV3 brains. I would not consider paying too much for an EV3 used kit as the Spike Prime is being released and old kits are becoming available.