Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• EV3 c++ detect gap in line following

Hi everybody,

I'm new in teaching robotics to students and we are going to join a robo league in Austria.
    We already programmed a robot with one light sensor - he is following the line.

The problem now is, that we are just allowed to use one light sensor and we need an idea how to detect a gap in the line and how to go over it.

The gap is about 5cm long. We already tried a lot, but it's still not working very well.
    Thanks a lot!

I want to make sure I am understanding the question here. First of all, this has nothing to do with FIRST Lego League (FLL). This forum is set up for FLL support, but we sometimes answer questions not related to FLL.

If I understand you correctly, you have a line that you are trying to follow. There, is a 5cm gap in the line where you need to be able to tell the robot to continue going in the same direction and continue following the line once it restarts, correct? You mentioned c++ in the subject, but I don't think you are asking a specific c++ question. I think you are just looking for algorithm ideas for ways to approach this problem, correct?

Is the gap in a straight part of the line, or is the gap in a curve? Any chance you can post a picture of the line?