Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• loop not stopping when downloaded

I am new to ev3 programming and have hit a problem I do not understand:
    I have a very simple program to demonstrate the loop function, the robot moves forward for 1sec ahd then turns right. I put forward and turn blocks inside a loop block and set the count condition to 4. When I run this from the programming interface over a USB cable, the robot moves around a square and stops. When I download the code to the ev3 brick and untether the robot, and press the run button, it keeps going! I had not expected different behaviour when I ran the code on the brick. What have I done or not done wrong?

EV3 programs run the same way, tethered or untethered, started from computer or brick EXCEPT for one thing. Downloading a program resets sensors so they are reset before your program starts. When running from the brick this does not happen. Sensors are always reset at the start of a program, but this takes a liny amount of time and I have some programs that run differently when I add a 0.1 second wait block at the very start.

I don't think is your problem but cannot be sure without seeing the code. More likely you are running the wrong program on the brick. Add a block to make a sound and try again. Do you hear the dound when running from the brick? If not you are doing somerhing I see happen all the time; running a different program with a similar name or from a different project.
    Last edited by Dean Hystad; 10-03-2019, 10:11 AM.

Comment

I have had groups have the same issue, where it would run when tethered and not when it wasn't. After spending a while trying everything I could the first time it happened, I finally realized what it was. They had two folders with a program named "program" in it and they were running the wrong one. I know it seems simple, but that could be your problem.

Comment