Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Into Orbit Height Limit

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Into Orbit Height Limit

    The Challenge Guide says the following about the robot's height:

    READY SITUATION Your Robot and everything in Base it's about to move or use is arranged by hand as you like it, all fitting COMPLETELY IN BASE and measuring no taller than 12 inches (30.5 cm)
    In previous years with a height limitation, we usually saw language like "the robot can expand to larger than the height restriction after leaving base". I see no such verbiage this time.

    Per GP2, "if a detail isn't mentioned, then it doesn't matter".

    Does everyone agree that the robot can expand to be taller than 12 inches after leaving base?
    ​​​​​​​
    Last edited by cschaffer; 08-08-2018, 06:04 PM.

  • #2
    There was the same height limit last year, but no language about expanding after launch.

    (note, don't try to copy-and-paste from a PDF file - it doesn't work here).
    FIRST LEGO League Mentor and Referee/Head Referee since 2011.

    Comment


    • #3
      Maybe it is only me, but most of the "clarifications" in the past did little to clarify. Instead you got a more questions about what the clarification meant, confusion about why it was needed, and speculation about how it may provide or hide "loopholes" in the rules. There are no loopholes in the rules. The rules (almost always) mean what they say. Read and understand the rules. Don't try to read between the lines looking for hidden information. This is FLL, not an episode of "Real Housewives".
      Last edited by Dean Hystad; 08-08-2018, 06:50 PM.

      Comment


      • #4
        cshaffer,
        yes, your analysis is correct. The R13 Launching height limit is part of the Launch Ready Position. Once the Robot is Launched and starts to GO, it doesn't have to stay completely in Base any more, and, similarly, the height limit doesn't apply except for having a proper Ready Position for re-Launches. (GP2)
        Steve Scherr
        Referee and Judge, Virginia-DC, Maryland, and Ohio
        FLL Global Head Referee

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by scherrsj View Post
          cshaffer,
          yes, your analysis is correct. The R13 Launching height limit is part of the Launch Ready Position. Once the Robot is Launched and starts to GO, it doesn't have to stay completely in Base any more, and, similarly, the height limit doesn't apply except for having a proper Ready Position for re-Launches. (GP2)
          So basically your robot can expand above the 12" height limit immediately after launch, even though it is still in base...is that correct?

          Comment


          • #6
            Yes, after launching, your robot can expand (autonomously, of course) to whatever size it wants/needs. But remember, if you intend to have your robot drive back to base after expanding, you will need to have your robot reconfigure itself so that it fits entirely in base again (to include the height limit) before the robot operators touch it again.

            Basically, if the robot drivers want to interact with the robot without any penalties or negative outcomes, they should only do it when the robot is not moving while entirely in base. Any other time, there will be some consequence.
            Norfolk, Virginia, USA
            FLL Coach and Regional Tournament Head judge since 2014

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by SkipMorrow View Post
              Yes, after launching, your robot can expand (autonomously, of course) to whatever size it wants/needs. But remember, if you intend to have your robot drive back to base after expanding, you will need to have your robot reconfigure itself so that it fits entirely in base again (to include the height limit) before the robot operators touch it again.
              The definition of Base (D07) does not include a height limit, so there should be no penalty if a returning robot exceeds 12" as long as it fits within the horizontal boundaries of Base. Operators can then reconfigure it to fit within the height limit before re-launch (R13).

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by jlrwi View Post

                The definition of Base (D07) does not include a height limit, so there should be no penalty if a returning robot exceeds 12" as long as it fits within the horizontal boundaries of Base. Operators can then reconfigure it to fit within the height limit before re-launch (R13).
                Thank you for that clarification.

                Comment


                • #9
                  I agree, the height limit is in R13 Launching, and the robot must be completely in Base, (D07, not outside the line or over the walls) and, also, in Ready Situation (R13, including under 12 inches). In Base is not limited to 12 inches. Ready Situation R13 limits the height only when Launching and re-Launching. So, coming back to base after a proper Launch/re-Launch, the robot can be any height. Upon re-Launch, it must again be under 12 inches per R13.
                  FLL coach Trash Trek on, State 4x, World 2x, state ref, state judge.

                  Comment


                  • #10
                    Can we not Touch the Robot While it's Moving? Like we have a program that continuously goes until we press the button. Is that illegal?

                    Comment


                    • #11
                      Originally posted by su386 View Post
                      Can we not Touch the Robot While it's Moving? Like we have a program that continuously goes until we press the button. Is that illegal?
                      I am not sure how your question relates to the topic of this thread "Into Orbit Height Limit".

                      Yes, you can touch the robot while it is moving, but there may be a Penalty. See rules R10 and R14.
                      FIRST LEGO League Mentor and Referee/Head Referee since 2011.

                      Comment

                      Working...
                      X