Question about Definition 01. Equipment not intended to separate

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Question about Definition 01. Equipment not intended to separate

I'm a first time coach and have a question about attachments. In the definitions section, it states: "01. Robot ... all the Equipment you combine ... which is NOT INTENDED TO SEPARATE FROM IT, EXCEPT BY HAND".

I've watched YouTube videos from past seasons and seen teams leave attachments on the board, which separated from the base by design. This might be to reduce weight and complexity of the attachment without returning to base. For example, in "Escape Velocity" of the Into Orbit season, I've seen teams leave behind a hammer mechanism on the board after smashing the pad. The robot then goes on to some other part of the board in the same run. Is this legal?

For example at approximately 2:05 in this clip:

Yes, it is legal. Equipment that is designed to autonomously detach from the robot is Cargo.
    See rule 11 (Transport and Cargo) and rule 29 (Stranded Cargo).
    FIRST LEGO League Mentor and Referee/Head Referee since 2011.

Comment

Originally posted by Tom Mosher View Post
      Yes, it is legal. Equipment that is designed to autonomously detach from the robot is Cargo.
      See rule 11 (Transport and Cargo) and rule 29 (Stranded Cargo).
      Thanks for the clarification!

Comment

Hi dragonops, Welcome to the Forums!

I believe you're asking all the right questions. You're a first year volunteer coach for a bunch of kids, and that makes you a huge Hero.

May I presume to offer you a bit more advice? Especially since you're posting a great video as an example?