Field Setup: "Loosely place these things in Base..."

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Field Setup: "Loosely place these things in Base..."

In the Challenge document's Field Setup instructions, it says, "Loosely place these things in Base however you like: ..." with a list of objects.

I have two questions.

1.) Can I start the game by placing my Robot completely inside the Base area, and placing those objects on top of the Robot? (Say, the Robot has a small dumptruck-like bin.) Does that qualify as "Loosely placed in Base"?

2.) If my Robot has a mechanical gripper-claw run by a motor, can I place one of the objects squeezed in the gripper claw, with the Robot (and object) completely inside Base? And start the game that way? Does that qualify as "Loosely placed in Base"?

Thanks all! This is my first year as an FLL Coach, last year I coached Jr. FLL. Hope this wasn't a dumb question.
    Lead Coach / Robot Coach
    FLL Team 15891, the Robo Sapiens
    San Diego, CA

Re: Field Setup: "Loosely place these things in Base..."

Your team does not do field setup. Field setup is done between matches. You will have some prep time at the table before the match starts and at that time you can transfer items from the base onto your robot.

It is a dumb question. It is far better to ask dumb questions than remain dumb.

Comment

Thanks, Dean.

So starting the game with some of those objects on the robot, or gripped in its claw, as long as the robot is completely inside the Base, is legal?
      Lead Coach / Robot Coach
      San Diego, CA

Comment

"Gripped" will likely be the deciding factor. Read D08 and see if passes that check.

Comment

Originally posted by dna1990 View Post
          "Gripped" will likely be the deciding factor. Read D08 and see if passes that check.
          Uh-oh, good point. Plastic gripper claws tend to be slippery, I might be able to lift a "person" straight up and it might slip out of the claw, satisfying D08.