M14 Meteoroid Independence

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• M14 Meteoroid Independence

I have a question related to the phrase "clearly independent" in M14. What if the robot first placed a wall near the meteoroid collector prior to launching a meteoroid from west of the Free-Line. If this wall was used to guide/deflect the meteoroid in transit to the collector would this violate the concept of independence? Or is independence defined as free from interference by the robot after launch?
    Last edited by jasponti; 09-18-2018, 09:44 AM.

The definition for independence is hidden in M01.

As a Mission requirement in any Mission, the word "Independent" means "not in contact with any of your Equipment."
    While between hit/release and scoring position, the Meteoroid * must be clearly Independent.
    So using a wall, which is considered part of your equipment, to guide meteoroid into the collector would not score.

As a referee, I have feeling I'm going to have to deal with a team exploiting the wording of "While between hit/release and scoring position" sometime this season.
    Last edited by BotDesigner; 09-18-2018, 02:17 PM.
    FLL alumni, mentor, referee, judge

Comment

Thank you. I had missed that definition of independent. As a follow-up, if the robot, prior to launching the meteoroid, first props up the collector so that it's front is raised in the air (to help better catch the meteoroid), that would be fine as long as the ball doesn't touch the prop device (I realize that's a risk).

Comment

Originally posted by BotDesigner View Post
        As a referee, I have feeling I'm going to have to deal with a team exploiting the wording of "While between hit/release and scoring position" sometime this season.
        I'm also a referee, and I have that same feeling.

FIRST LEGO League Mentor and Referee/Head Referee since 2011.

Comment