Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

M12 Satellite Orbits

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • M12 Satellite Orbits

    I have a couple of questions about M12

    The guide says that outer Orbit is (between these two lines).

    I assume that above means outside of the lines relative to their relationship to the northeast corner.

    So if a robot where to just launch the placed satellite across the board, would that count so lone as it was beyond those two lines relative to the northeast corner?

    but... at what point does this no longer apply to the other satellites? It seems that you could argue that above the outer orbit is just about anywhere outside of the northeast corner.

    Thanks for your help in advance

  • #2
    I assume that above means outside of the lines relative to their relationship to the northeast corner.
    "Between the two lines" means exactly that. It refers to the area between the two lines, extending to infinity above the mat.
    It is not in reference to the NE corner where the planet is.
    FIRST LEGO League Mentor and Referee/Head Referee since 2011.

    Comment


    • #3
      Thanks for the response...

      But does that mean that "above" the outer orbit could be anywhere on the board beyond the Orbit, or does part of the satellite need to be touching the outer orbit? We can easily move the satellite from it's position to the outer orbit, but it is not always touching the outer orbit, sometimes it is pushed/flung far beyond the outer Orbit.
      Last edited by kjorness; 11-25-2018, 05:37 PM.

      Comment


      • #4
        The satillite must be over the line. Up from the mat. Looking down at the table, is the satillite, or part of it, over the lines. Not in relation to the planet. Not outside the orbit meaning away from the planet. It must be where a ref can look down at the table and see that the satillite on or part of it over the line.
        FLL coach Trash Trek on, State 4x, World 2x, ref, judge advisor.

        Comment


        • #5
          Originally posted by kjorness View Post
          Thanks for the response...

          But does that mean that "above" the outer orbit could be anywhere on the board beyond the Orbit, or does part of the satellite need to be touching the outer orbit? We can easily move the satellite from it's position to the outer orbit, but it is not always touching the outer orbit, sometimes it is pushed/flung far beyond the outer Orbit.
          "above" means the vertical dimension, not "toward the north wall".
          FIRST LEGO League Mentor and Referee/Head Referee since 2011.

          Comment

          Working...
          X