Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does R10 incur a penalty?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • #16
    Originally posted by timdavid View Post

    Sigh. This forum was the last bastion of the internet that was free from cute cat videos.
    Consider it as a bonus that is our mascot, as she loves to spend time with people, the more the better
    Legolympians - 2009-2015 (retired - joined FRC team 5422 Stormgears)
    Legolicious - 5th year girls team
    Brick Force - 2nd year boys team

    2015 - Mass FLL coach of the year.

    Comment


    • #17
      Originally posted by Dean Hystad View Post
      Read what happens to transported items when the robot is interrupted. It doesn't matter what the transported items look like.
      Dean, I agree, it just that Ref thought otherwise. I just need to make sure that kids know the rule!
      Legolympians - 2009-2015 (retired - joined FRC team 5422 Stormgears)
      Legolicious - 5th year girls team
      Brick Force - 2nd year boys team

      2015 - Mass FLL coach of the year.

      Comment


      • #18
        Originally posted by BotDesigner View Post
        Teams were allowed to interact with stuff (not attached to the robot) outside of base but were given given a "touch penalty" for doing so.
        That's just wrong, as it simply isn't allowed. The refs should tell the team they can't touch anything outside of Base during the match, and reset anything that was touched back to the original position.

        FIRST LEGO League Mentor and Referee/Head Referee since 2011.

        Comment


        • #19
          Originally posted by Leon R View Post
          On somewhat related topic, we have an "attachment" that is pushed by the robot (I use quotation marks because isn't actually attached to the robot, but it is in physical contact). One time, it didn't go straight and caused robot to be entangled with the "attachment". Team interrupted and rescued the robot, leaving the "attachment on the field". Should they have been able to pick up the "attachment" too?
          Attachments don't formally exist in the rules. Everything is pretty much either "the robot", or "equipment being Transported" or "equipment that is Stranded".
          • If you attach some equipment to the robot in a way that is only intended to be detached by the team, that equipment becomes part of the robot.
          • If the robot can detach the equipment autonomously, then it's equipment being Transported.
          • If something being transported loses contact with the Robot, then it's equipment that is Stranded.
          The equipment that was being pushed is "transported", and if it was in Base when the Robot was launched, the team can "keep it" when they retrieve the robot (R14).
          FIRST LEGO League Mentor and Referee/Head Referee since 2011.

          Comment


          • #20
            (trying a re-post after being auto-flagged as spam after editing...)

            Attachments don't formally exist in the rules. Everything is pretty much either "the robot", or "equipment being Transported" or "equipment that is Stranded".
            • If you attach some equipment to the robot in a way that is only intended to be detached by the team, that equipment becomes part of the robot.
            • If the robot can detach the equipment autonomously, then it's equipment being Transported.
            • If something being transported loses contact with the Robot, then it's equipment that is Stranded.
            The equipment that was being pushed is Transported, and if it was still in contact with the Robot and was in Base when the Robot was launched, the team can keep it when they retrieve the robot (R14).
            FIRST LEGO League Mentor and Referee/Head Referee since 2011.

            Comment


            • #21
              Originally posted by Tom Mosher View Post

              That's just wrong, as it simply isn't allowed. The refs should tell the team they can't touch anything outside of Base during the match, and reset anything that was touched back to the original position.
              And this is just one of the many reasons why your team should always bring to a competition table:

              1. A solid understanding of the robot game rules

              2. A paper copy of the rules

              Their is no guarantee the referees at a your tournament will have either!
              FLL alumni, mentor, referee, judge

              Comment

              Working...
              X