Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Does R10 incur a penalty?

Collapse
X
 
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • BotDesigner
    replied
    Originally posted by Tom Mosher View Post

    That's just wrong, as it simply isn't allowed. The refs should tell the team they can't touch anything outside of Base during the match, and reset anything that was touched back to the original position.
    And this is just one of the many reasons why your team should always bring to a competition table:

    1. A solid understanding of the robot game rules

    2. A paper copy of the rules

    Their is no guarantee the referees at a your tournament will have either!

    Leave a comment:


  • Tom Mosher
    replied
    (trying a re-post after being auto-flagged as spam after editing...)

    Attachments don't formally exist in the rules. Everything is pretty much either "the robot", or "equipment being Transported" or "equipment that is Stranded".
    • If you attach some equipment to the robot in a way that is only intended to be detached by the team, that equipment becomes part of the robot.
    • If the robot can detach the equipment autonomously, then it's equipment being Transported.
    • If something being transported loses contact with the Robot, then it's equipment that is Stranded.
    The equipment that was being pushed is Transported, and if it was still in contact with the Robot and was in Base when the Robot was launched, the team can keep it when they retrieve the robot (R14).

    Leave a comment:


  • Tom Mosher
    replied
    Originally posted by Leon R View Post
    On somewhat related topic, we have an "attachment" that is pushed by the robot (I use quotation marks because isn't actually attached to the robot, but it is in physical contact). One time, it didn't go straight and caused robot to be entangled with the "attachment". Team interrupted and rescued the robot, leaving the "attachment on the field". Should they have been able to pick up the "attachment" too?
    Attachments don't formally exist in the rules. Everything is pretty much either "the robot", or "equipment being Transported" or "equipment that is Stranded".
    • If you attach some equipment to the robot in a way that is only intended to be detached by the team, that equipment becomes part of the robot.
    • If the robot can detach the equipment autonomously, then it's equipment being Transported.
    • If something being transported loses contact with the Robot, then it's equipment that is Stranded.
    The equipment that was being pushed is "transported", and if it was in Base when the Robot was launched, the team can "keep it" when they retrieve the robot (R14).

    Leave a comment:


  • Tom Mosher
    replied
    Originally posted by BotDesigner View Post
    Teams were allowed to interact with stuff (not attached to the robot) outside of base but were given given a "touch penalty" for doing so.
    That's just wrong, as it simply isn't allowed. The refs should tell the team they can't touch anything outside of Base during the match, and reset anything that was touched back to the original position.

    Leave a comment:


  • Leon R
    replied
    Originally posted by Dean Hystad View Post
    Read what happens to transported items when the robot is interrupted. It doesn't matter what the transported items look like.
    Dean, I agree, it just that Ref thought otherwise. I just need to make sure that kids know the rule!

    Leave a comment:


  • Leon R
    replied
    Originally posted by timdavid View Post

    Sigh. This forum was the last bastion of the internet that was free from cute cat videos.
    Consider it as a bonus that is our mascot, as she loves to spend time with people, the more the better

    Leave a comment:


  • timdavid
    replied
    Originally posted by Leon R View Post
    Sigh. This forum was the last bastion of the internet that was free from cute cat videos.

    Leave a comment:


  • Dean Hystad
    replied
    Read what happens to transported items when the robot is interrupted. It doesn't matter what the transported items look like.

    Leave a comment:


  • Leon R
    replied
    This is the "attachment" https://www.facebook.com/leon.reitma...7104662318013/

    Leave a comment:


  • Leon R
    replied
    On somewhat related topic, we have an "attachment" that is pushed by the robot (I use quotation marks because isn't actually attached to the robot, but it is in physical contact). One time, it didn't go straight and caused robot to be entangled with the "attachment". Team interrupted and rescued the robot, leaving the "attachment on the field". Should they have been able to pick up the "attachment" too?
    Last edited by Leon R; 12-12-2018, 10:22 AM.

    Leave a comment:


  • brian@kidbrothers.net
    replied
    Originally posted by BotDesigner View Post
    Teams were allowed to interact with stuff (not attached to the robot) outside of base but were given given a "touch penalty" for doing so.
    Yeah, that's nuts. The rules are crystal clear on this stuff:

    R10 gives a specific exception to "equipment that broke off the robot unintentionally" and just to be sure it is understood, they added the words "anywhere, any time". Definitely no penalty there.

    As far as other stuff outside of base, the rules are equally clear:

    R10 and R11 say you can't touch models on the field.

    And R14 and R15 talk about what happens to a "transported thing":
    • As long as it is touching the robot, it is considered part of the robot.
    • If a kid "interrupts" the robot, meaning they pick it up and return it to base, a transported thing that is going from base out into the field and is still being carried by the robot when is considered part of the robot. Penalty for the interruption, but not for the transported thing.
    • If a kid interrupts the robot, a transported thing that was retrieved while outside of base (this year, the cone module, meteoroid ball, extraction samples, lander, etc.) that is still being carried by the robot is given to the referee. Penalty for the interruption, but not for the transported thing.
    • If a kid does not interrupt the robot, but a transported thing just falls off on its own outside of base, it is left wherever it falls. No penalty.



    Leave a comment:


  • korey99
    replied
    Originally posted by BotDesigner View Post
    Whoops, misread (or maybe didn't completely read) the original post. To clarify, the "R10 violations" didn't have to do with the second exception. Teams were allowed to interact with stuff (not attached to the robot) outside of base but were given given a "touch penalty" for doing so.
    That sounds like a pretty good deal! Walk over, grab the lander, place it in the circle, but pay an interruption penalty. Well worth it!

    Leave a comment:


  • BotDesigner
    replied
    Whoops, misread (or maybe didn't completely read) the original post. To clarify, the "R10 violations" didn't have to do with the second exception. Teams were allowed to interact with stuff (not attached to the robot) outside of base but were given given a "touch penalty" for doing so.

    Leave a comment:


  • EricM
    replied
    Thanks! I thought the rule was pretty clear, but I told the kids I would double check

    Leave a comment:


  • cschaffer
    replied
    Originally posted by Tom Mosher View Post
    I think the OP was specifically addressing picking up broken-off robot pieces.

    Officially there are no "touch penalties", there are only "Interruption penalties".
    I see now. Thanks. Yeah, giving penalties for broken pieces would be a big problem

    Leave a comment:

Working...
X