Announcement

Collapse
No announcement yet.

Overhanging robot parts

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All
new posts

  • Overhanging robot parts

    Some members of or team made an attachment that completes missions 1 and 2. The problem is that it overhangs on top of the field, although no part actually touches it. Is this Against the rules? If so, then how could we fix it?

  • #2
    Can you be more specific what "overhangs on top of the field" means?
    FIRST LEGO League Mentor and Referee/Head Referee since 2011.

    Comment


    • #3
      If you mean that it crosses the curved line marking the edge of base, or that it hangs over the wall, then the refs will not allow you to start the robot out of base. The robot has to be completely inside the base to legally start a run. I'm guessing it is the part that is supposed to push the solar panel. If so, the kids should be able to find a way to get it back inside the base.

      Comment


      • #4
        It is ok to extend over the walls except at launch or if you interfere with the robot on the opposing table. As Tim says every part of the robot, including attachments and anything the robot is about to use, must be completely inside base when you launch. The base is a volume, not an area. Imagine that the borders of the base extend upward to a 12" high ceiling. The robot has to fit completely inside that volume.

        The 12" ceiling is only for launch. Once you start the mission the ceiling goes away and the base extends forever upward. If your robot is taller than 12" when it returns to base it is still completely in base
        Last edited by Dean Hystad; 12-20-2018, 09:18 AM.

        Comment


        • #5
          I think you mean the attachment overhangs the north wall after completing the solar panel mission. Read R16 - INTERFERENCE: "You are not allowed to negatively affect the other team except as described in a mission." I would check with your head ref to see if they will allow stranding equipment that can prevent the other team from scoring that solar panel.

          Comment


          • #6
            A similar question, or the same question, has come up the past few weeks and I wonder if anyone has been a ref and given a penalty under R14 when the robot returns and part of an attachment is over the south or west wall but, the rest of the robot is completely in base. This would be only when the attachment was in Base when launched, extended or became larger and upon return, it was too large to fit in Base but, was on the leading/front of the robot and extended over the west wall after the back of the robot was inside the Base line. Or, has your team gotten a touch penalty?
            What if the robot were transporting something on that leading attachment that was over the west wall when it returned to base?
            FLL coach Trash Trek on, State 4x, World 2x, state ref, state judge.

            Comment


            • #7
              Originally posted by is1c View Post
              I would check with your head ref to see if they will allow stranding equipment that can prevent the other team from scoring that solar panel.
              The Interference rule only applies if 1) the other team tries and is unable to complete a mission. and 2) the interference is not allowed by a mission rule. Just stranding equipment on the other field is not sufficient to cause an Interference ruling. There must be actual interference, not just potential interference.
              FIRST LEGO League Mentor and Referee/Head Referee since 2011.

              Comment


              • #8
                Originally posted by DJR View Post
                A similar question, or the same question, has come up the past few weeks and I wonder if anyone has been a ref and given a penalty under R14 when the robot returns and part of an attachment is over the south or west wall but, the rest of the robot is completely in base. This would be only when the attachment was in Base when launched, extended or became larger and upon return, it was too large to fit in Base but, was on the leading/front of the robot and extended over the west wall after the back of the robot was inside the Base line.
                Yes, what you describe would cause an Interruption penalty. I haven't had to give any penalties for this scenario this season, because we published some information to all teams in the region months ago, reminding teams about this issue.

                What if the robot were transporting something on that leading attachment that was over the west wall when it returned to base?
                The status of transported objects when the robot is Interrupted is covered in R14 also. The fact that the object is over-the-wall does not give it any special status - it is still "not completely in Base" The team will either keep the object, or surrender it to the referee, depending on where it was on the most recent Launch.
                FIRST LEGO League Mentor and Referee/Head Referee since 2011.

                Comment


                • #9
                  Originally posted by DJR View Post
                  A similar question, or the same question, has come up the past few weeks and I wonder if anyone has been a ref and given a penalty under R14 when the robot returns and part of an attachment is over the south or west wall but, the rest of the robot is completely in base. This would be only when the attachment was in Base when launched, extended or became larger and upon return, it was too large to fit in Base but, was on the leading/front of the robot and extended over the west wall after the back of the robot was inside the Base line. Or, has your team gotten a touch penalty?
                  What if the robot were transporting something on that leading attachment that was over the west wall when it returned to base?
                  Sure. Is it common, no - but it happens.

                  A common example is to have a long protrusion arm out front and robot drives in at an angle to where the south wall and base meet. Protrusion arm extends out past inner face of wood walls and the rest of the robot eventually gets in base inside the arc. But the arm remained over. Team touches bot, team has interrupted bot. Where is bot? Not completely in base. One red circle please.

                  What if the robot was transporting something? R14 covers that too. Quite plainly. Was the something with bot on last launch, and where was the something when interruption occurred.

                  Comment

                  Working...
                  X