First Time Project Judge

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• First Time Project Judge

I am going to be a project judge this year for the first time. I have been coaching for 4 years and this will be my first time judging. I did the online training videos and everything, but wonder if there is any advice you all might want to share. Thanks.

Thank you very much for volunteering! You will find out very quickly how much this will help your own team. Here are my tips for you.

1. Ask questions that will help you fill out the rubric. You will need a completed rubric for each team. If you didn't ask them who they shared with, and they didn't tell you, you are going to have a hard time. Make sure you can put something in every row.

2. Speaking of the rubric, put helpful, actionable comments where you can. "I would have understood your idea better if you had drawn a picture" is MUCH better than "Cute team!!!!!" (Fortunately, I have never gotten the "Cute Team" comment, but I do hear about them from time to time)

3. Stay positive! Even if you know the team's idea is impossible, respect the fact that they may have put a lot of work into it. Maybe they just figured out the week before the tournament that their idea won't work. THAT'S OK! Nowhere on the rubric does it say full credit only for ideas that work.

4. They are not defending a dissertation. Do not grill them to see if you can trip them up. Ideally they will all leave with a good, positive feeling.

5. Take good notes! You will see a lot of teams, and they will all be a blur at the end of the day. Rank them after each team between sessions. You can't rank them all at once at the end of the day.

6. Remember that you are also a coach. Think about how you would want your team to be treated. Think about the feedback you would like your team to leave with. Try to provide that experience to each team that you see that day.