Basic question about project displays

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Basic question about project displays

Hi, I'm new to all this and first time coach. In addition to the 5-minute presentation, is the team supposed to have a "science fair" display with posters and pictures of their innovation? If so, is this also part of the judging?

Should they have a model or prototype of their invention in their team area? Finally, is electricity generally available?

Thanks!
    Jim

Do not depend on there being anything in the judging room other than judges. You can use posters as part of your presentation, or as supporting material for the judge's interview after the presentation. Do not depend on the judges paying any attention to anything that you do not mention during your presentation. Prototypes or models are certainly allowed, but not required. My teams always have some kind of project poster that we display in the pit area. This is common, but not required in my region and it is a lot of fun walking around reading about different team's research.

Do not depend on the judging room having a lot of space. Practice your presentation in different spaces. I tell my teams that the presentation isn't ready if they can't deliver it in a bathroom or in a concert hall. We've had to present in rooms of all different sizes. I've heard some tournaments don't even have judging rooms, just partitions separating multiple teams giving their presentations at the same time. This can be quite noisy.

Remember that you have limited time for setup. If you have a lot of props the judges may decide to start the presentation before you are ready

Comment

Thanks for the advice, Dean!

Comment

Only team members can go into the Judging Rooms. If your team is finding they need extra help to handle all their props and materials, they should rethink what they are bringing to the Judging Rooms.